Quick Results
Practices

2016 FLSA Changes

Print Version

The new overtime rules are effective as of December 1, 2016. Are you ready?

Featured Videos

Is It Over for the New Overtime Rules? What Employers Should Do Now (Encore) December 6, 2016
Is It Over for the New Overtime Rules? What Employers Should Do Now December 1, 2016
The FLSA December 1 Deadline is Almost Here. Are You Ready? November 10, 2016
Protected Concerted Activity: The Labor Board's Trap for Nonunion Employers October 25, 2016
The Final Overtime Rule - Is It Really that Simple? [Ober|Kaler] June 1, 2016
2015 FLSA Changes Webinar: How to Plan, Budget and Prepare July 6, 2015

Practice Overview

Overview

On May 18, 2016, the Department of Labor (DOL) announced the new overtime rules. Final publication of the rule in the Federal Register occurred on May 23, 2016. Although this new overtime regulation will still significantly impact employers in virtually every industry, there are some significant and positive changes from the rule initially proposed by the DOL last year. The most important news is that the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) listened to employers' concerns about the complexity of compliance and provided an extended period until December 1, 2016, before the Final Rule becomes effective.

The Final Rule's main changes are:

  • The 2016 salary threshold will be $913/week, which is $47,476/year. This is $2,964 less than the originally proposed $50,440 salary threshold. The salary threshold will be based upon the 40th percentile of the lowest-wage region, the South, rather than the entire country as initially proposed. This change is likely the result of criticism the DOL received for basing their proposed rule on national statistics, which did not take into account regional salary fluctuations. For the highly compensated employee exemption (HCE), however, the DOL is still basing the new wage on the weekly earnings of the 90th percentile of full-time salaried workers nationally, which will mean an increase in the HCE annual salary threshold from $100,000 to $134,004.
  • Bonuses and incentives (including commissions) can be included to satisfy up to 10 percent of the standard salary level. For the first time, non-discretionary bonuses and incentives (including commissions – which is a shocker, since the DOL basically said no commissions in the proposed rule) can be included AND the rule allows employers to make a "catch up" payment. For employers to credit nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive payments toward a portion of the salary threshold, the Final Rule requires such payments to be paid on a quarterly or more frequent basis. If an employee does not earn enough in nondiscretionary bonuses and incentive payments (including commissions) in a given quarter to retain their exempt status, the Final Rule permits a "catch-up" payment at the end of the quarter. The employer has one pay period to make up for the shortfall.
  • The automatic updates will be every three years beginning January 1, 2020. Rather than the initially proposed annual updates, the Final Rule provides for updates every three years. This will be based on the 40th percentile of weekly earnings of full-time salaried workers in the lowest-wage region, which is currently and will likely remain the South.
  • No changes to the duties test. There was some speculation that the DOL would revise the duties test in the Final Rule, but they did not touch them . . . but that doesn't mean they won't make changes to the test in the future.

Remember, salary threshold is just one of the requirements for exemption. To be exempt from overtime, you must satisfy three tests:

  1. The employee must be paid on a salary basis, which means a predetermined amount of pay that constitutes all or part of the employee's compensation for the pay period. This predetermined amount is a fixed amount and may not be reduced based on the quality or quantity of the work performed;
  2. The employee's salary must meet a minimum salary level, which after the effective date of the Final Rule will be $913 per week, which is equivalent to $47,476 annually for a full-year worker (the salary threshold test); and
  3. The employee's primary job duty must involve the kind of work associated with exempt executive, administrative or professional employees (the job duties test).

It is now time for employers to review, analyze, prepare and reclassify employees to comply with the Final Rule. Baker Donelson's FLSA Audit Team has conducted countless FLSA audits and is familiar with the revised regulations. An audit will include a determination as to whether current compensation meets the new salary basis requirements and will suggest ways to comply with the new regulations.

Please contact your Baker Donelson lawyer or one of the FLSA Audit team members with any questions or to schedule your audit.

Baker Donelson Audit Team
Alabama Rachel Barlotta rbarlotta@bakerdonelson.com 205.244.3822 Birmingham
Jenna Bedsole jbedsole@bakerdonelson.com 205.244.3851
 
Birmingham
Florida Dena Sokolow dsokolow@bakerdonelson.com 850.425.7550
 
Tallahassee
Georgia David Gevertz dgevertz@bakerdonelson.com 404.221.6512
 
Atlanta
Louisiana Phyllis Cancienne pcancienne@bakerdonelson.com 225.381.7008 Baton Rouge
Mimi Koch akoch@bakerdonelson.com 504.566.5222 New Orleans
Steve Griffith sgriffith@bakerdonelson.com 504.566.5225
 
New Orleans
Mississippi Brooks Eason beason@bakerdonelson.com 601.969.4673 Jackson
Jennifer Hall jhall@bakerdonelson.com 601.351.2483
 
Jackson
Tennessee Rusty Gray rgray@bakerdonelson.com 423.209.4218 Chattanooga
Tim McConnell tmcconnell@bakerdonelson.com 865.971.5166 Knoxville
Angie Davis angiedavis@bakerdonelson.com 901.577.8110 Memphis
Jonathan Hancock jhancock@bakerdonelson.com 901.577.8202 Memphis
Whitney Harmon wharmon@bakerdonelson.com 901.577.2230 Memphis
Ben Bodzy bbodzy@bakerdonelson.com 615.726.5640 Nashville
Ken Weber kweber@bakerdonelson.com 615.726.7369
 
Nashville
Texas Karen Smith kasmith@bakerdonelson.com 713.210.7417 Houston
Publications
In the News
Blog Posts

Outstanding firm for employment and benefits matters.

Email Disclaimer

NOTICE: The mailing of this email is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Anything that you send to anyone at our Firm will not be confidential or privileged unless we have agreed to represent you. If you send this email, you confirm that you have read and understand this notice.
Cancel Accept