Skip to Main Content

Trump Subjects More Countries to Limited Travel Ban

On January 31, President Trump issued a new Proclamation not only keeping in place a prior ban on certain travel (having removed Chad from that ban), but imposing a ban only on permanent immigration from outside the U.S. of nationals of six more countries, as follows:

  • Burma (Myanmar), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria: All immigrants OTHER THAN "Special Immigrants whose eligibility is based on having provided assistance to the United States Government" meaning those aliens described in Section 101(a)(27)(D) through (G) and (K) of the INA, 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(27)(D) through (G) and (K), any alien seeking to enter the United States pursuant to a Special Immigrant Visa in the SI or SQ classification, and any spouse and children of any such alien.
  • Sudan and Tanzania: Diversity visas only (this probably is the most subject to legal challenge).

This ban does not ban temporary visas or entry from such nationals and apparently does not ban adjustment of status to permanent residence from within the U.S. The President explains his reasoning for the bans in the Proclamation.

Subscribe to


Have Questions?
Let's Talk!

To discuss how this topic could affect
your company, click above to email us.

Email Disclaimer

NOTICE: The mailing of this email is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Anything that you send to anyone at our Firm will not be confidential or privileged unless we have agreed to represent you. If you send this email, you confirm that you have read and understand this notice.
Cancel Accept