Skip to Main Content

Leadership Changes in Congress for the 116th Session U.S. House of Representatives

Washington, D.C. Update: December 2018

With Democrats taking control of the House in the midterm elections, Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) will likely become Speaker of the House. Minority Leader Pelosi secured the party nomination for Speaker in a closed-door caucus vote of 203 to 32, but must still secure a majority full House vote on January 3, 2019. On December 12, Minority Leader Pelosi announced she would agree to serve no more than four years as Speaker in order to secure additional votes for the position. No other Democrats have announced a run for Speaker.

Other key Democratic leadership contenders include Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD), who is running unopposed for Majority Leader, and Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC), who is running unopposed for Minority Whip; Rep. Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), who ran unopposed for Assistant Democratic Leader; and Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), who won the Caucus Chair race on a 123 to 113 vote against Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA).

Speaker Paul Ryan's (R-WI) retirement has opened up changes in the House Republican leadership. Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) was elected 159 to 43 as Minority Leader with Speaker Ryan's endorsement. Rep Steve Scalise (R-LA) ran unopposed for Minority Whip and Rep. Liz Cheney (R-WY) ran unopposed for Conference Chair after Rep. Cathy McMorris Rogers (R-WA) dropped out of the race.

The election will result in a number of significant House committee leadership changes for the 116th Congress. Here are the expected House Committee leaders as currently announced.

116th Congress Committee Chairman Ranking Republican
 Agriculture Collin Peterson (Minn.) Mike Conaway (Texas)
 Appropriations Nita Lowey (N.Y.) Kay Granger (Texas)
 Armed Services Adam Smith (Wash.) Mac Thornberry (Texas)
 Budget John Yarmuth (Ky.)* Steve Womack (Ark.)
 Education and Labor Bobby Scott (Va.) Virginia Foxx (N.C.)
 Energy and Commerce Frank Pallone (N.J.) Greg Walden (Ore.)
 Financial Services Maxine Waters (Calif.) Patrick McHenry (N.C.)
 Foreign Affairs Eliot Engel (N.Y.) Mike McCaul (Texas)
 Homeland Security Bennie Thompson (Miss.) Mike Rogers (Ala.)
 House Administration Zoe Lofgren (Calif.)* Rodney Davis (Ill.)
 Intelligence Adam Schiff (Calif.)* Devin Nunes (Calif.)
 Judiciary Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.) Doug Collins (Ga.)
 Natural Resources Raúl Grijalva (Ariz.) Rob Bishop (Utah)
 Oversight and Government Reform Elijah Cummings (Md.) Jim Jordan (Ohio)
 Rules Jim McGovern (Mass).*
 Science, Space & Technology Eddie Bernice Johnson (Texas) Frank Lucas (Okla.)
 Small Business Nydia Velázquez (N.Y.) Steve Chabot (Ohio)
 Transportation & Infrastructure Peter DeFazio (Ore.) Sam Graves (Mo.)
 Veterans' Affairs Mark Takano (Calif.) Phil Roe (Tenn.)
 Ways and Means Richard Neal (Mass.) Kevin Brady (Texas)

Note: Bolded are new top members; asterisks are based on reporting; Democrats' picks are subject to caucus approval; Democrats plan to change the name of the Education and Workforce Committee.
Sources: Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) Nov. 30 press release; Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) Dec. 12 press release and Dec. 11 press release

U.S. Senate

With Republicans maintaining control of the Senate, party leadership will not change significantly. In addition, most committees will maintain their current chairs and ranking members in the 116th Congress. Here are the expected Senate committee leaders as currently announced.

116th Congress Committee Chairman Ranking Democrat
 Aging Bob Casey (Pa.)
Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry Pat Roberts (Kan.)* Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)
 Appropriations Richard Shelby (Ala.)* Patrick Leahy (Vt.)
 Armed Services Jim Inhofe (Okla.)* Jack Reed (R.I.)
 Banking, Housing & Urban Affairs Mike Crapo (Idaho)* Sherrod Brown (Ohio)
 Budget Mike Enzi (Wyo.)* Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)
 Commerce, Science & Transportation Roger Wicker (Miss.)* Maria Cantwell (Wash.)
 Energy & Natural Resources Lisa Murkowski (Alaska)* Joe Manchin (W.Va.)
 Environment & Public Works John Barrasso (Wyo.)* Tom Carper (Del.)
 Ethics Chris Coons (Del.)
 Finance Charles Grassley (Iowa)* Ron Wyden (Ore.)
 Foreign Relations James Risch (Idaho)* Bob Menendez (N.J.)
 Health, Education, Labor & Pensions Lamar Alexander (Tenn.)* Patty Murray (Wash.)
 Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs Ron Johnson (Wis.)* Gary Peters (Mich.)
 Indian Affairs John Hoeven (N.D.)* Tom Udall (N.M.)
 Intelligence Richard Burr (N.C.)* Mark Warner (Va.)
 Judiciary Lindsey Graham (S.C.)* Dianne Feinstein (Calif.)
 Rules & Administration Roy Blunt (Mo.)* Amy Klobuchar (Minn.)
 Small Business & Entrepreneurship Ben Cardin (Md.)
 Veterans' Affairs Johnny Isakson (Ga.)* Jon Tester (Mont.)

Note: Bolded are new top members; asterisks are based on reporting; Democrats’ picks subject to caucus approval.
Source: Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) Dec. 13 press release



Baker Donelson professional not admitted to the practice of law.

Email Disclaimer

NOTICE: The mailing of this email is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Anything that you send to anyone at our Firm will not be confidential or privileged unless we have agreed to represent you. If you send this email, you confirm that you have read and understand this notice.
Cancel Accept