PUBLICATION

The June 9 Travel Ban: Who Is Impacted and What You Need to Know

Authors: Robert C. Divine, Melanie Colvert Walker, Antonio Garofalo, III June 06, 2025

On June 4, 2025, President Trump issued a proclamation restricting entries for people from 19 countries based on national security concerns about deficient vetting and screening processes with a June 9, 2025 start date. A nearly total ban applies to Afghanistan, Burma, Chad, the Republic of Congo. Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Haiti, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen. Certain temporary visas with time restrictions remain allowed for Burundi, Cuba, Laos, Sierra Leone, Togo, Turkmenistan, and Venezuela.

Countries Fully Restricted and Limited:

Entry into the United States of nationals of the following 12 countries is suspended and limited for ALL immigrant and nonimmigrant travelers (unless one of the below exceptions applies):

 Afghanistan, Burma, Chad, the Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Haiti, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen.

Countries Partially Restricted:

Entry into the United States of nationals of the following 7 countries is suspended for immigrants and for nonimmigrants using B-1, B-2, F, M, and J visas; validity period of nonimmigrant visas issued in other categories shall be reduced to the extent permitted by law:

• Burundi, Cuba, Laos, Sierra Leone, Togo, Turkmenistan, and Venezuela.

WHO IS EXEMPT:

President Trump's proclamation is only applicable to foreign nationals of the above-listed countries who as of the order's June 9 start date are outside the U.S. and do not already have a valid visa. The proclamation does not apply to certain other individuals including:

- Any lawful permanent resident of the U.S.
- Any dual national of a country designated under either list when the individual is traveling on a passport issued by a country not so designated.
- Immediate family using immigrant visas (with clear and convincing evidence of identity/family relationship).
- Certain diplomatic travelers.

The proclamation also provides for either the Attorney General or Secretary of State, in his or her discretion, to exempt certain individuals whose entry would advance a critical national interest of the U.S.

The proclamation directs the Secretary of State, with the Attorney General, Secretary of Homeland Security, and Director of National Intelligence after the first 90 days (and then every 180 days thereafter) to review and assess the imposed limitations. The proclamation directs the same government officials to work directly with those countries on courses of action to comply with screening, vetting, immigration, and security requirements of the United States.

Please contact your Baker Donelson immigration attorney if you have questions about the potential impacts of the June 4, 2025 presidential proclamation.