Quick Results
Publications

Spotlight on Tennessee: New Rules for Tennessee E-Discovery are Effective July 1, 2009

Share

In our March 31, 2009 alert, we wrote about the new Tennessee rules for e-discovery going into effect on July 1, 2009. Nashville shareholder Lawrence Maxwell penned the cover story on the new rules for the June 2009 issue of the Tennessee Bar Journal:

"The Tennessee legislature has given its approval to the amendments to the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure relating to the discovery of electronically stored information that were proposed by the Tennessee Supreme Court on Jan. 8. Thus, the amendments will become effective on July 1, 2009. ... Tennessee is now 'catching up' with the federal system and with numerous other states in putting some order in the chaos of electronic discovery."

To learn more about the specific changes to the rules and to read the article in its entirety, click here.

Baker Donelson has an ESI Task Force that is well-equipped and experienced in dealing with ESI issues and document retention plans. If you have ESI questions or issues in Tennessee, or in other states, the following Task Force members can assist you:


Nashville, Tennessee
Lawrence Maxwell 615.726.5769 lmaxwell@bakerdonelson.com
Betty K. Steele 615.726.5603 bsteele@bakerdonelson.com

Chattanooga, Tennessee
John M. Phillips 423.209.4191 jphillips@bakerdonelson.com
Clinton P. Sanko 423.209.4168 csanko@bakerdonelson.com

Memphis, Tennessee
Gregory G. Fletcher 901.577.2294 gfletcher@bakerdonelson.com
Ormonde B. DeAllaume 901.577.8160 odeallaume@bakerdonelson.com

Birmingham, Alabama
Hans Schmidt 205.250.8324 hschmidt@bakerdonelson.com
Andrew P. Walsh 205.244.3863 awalsh@bakerdonelson.com

New Orleans, Louisiana
Kent Lambert 504.566.5252 klambert@bakerdonelson.com

Under requirements imposed by the IRS, we inform you that, if any advice concerning one or more U.S. federal tax issues is contained in this communication (including any attachments), such advice was not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, for the purpose of (1) avoiding penalties under the Internal Revenue Code or (2) promoting, marketing or recommending to another party any transaction or tax-related matter addressed herein.

The Rules of Professional Conduct of various states where our offices are located require the following language: THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT. Ben Adams, CEO and Chairman of the Firm, maintains an office at 165 Madison Avenue, Suite 2000, Memphis Tennessee 38103, 901.526.2000. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. FREE BACKGROUND INFORMATION AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. © 2009 Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC

Email Disclaimer

NOTICE: The mailing of this email is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Anything that you send to anyone at our Firm will not be confidential or privileged unless we have agreed to represent you. If you send this email, you confirm that you have read and understand this notice.
Cancel Accept