PUBLICATION

No more visa waiver for Argentina

April 18, 2007

The Attorney General has removed Argentina from the Visa Waiver Program, so that Argentinian visitors must obtain a visitor's visa in order to enter the U.S. Those already in the U.S. on visa waivers may remain until expiration of their 90 day stay.

The interim rule in the Federal Register reasons that the troubled economy of Argentina has led to increased use of visa waiver entries, giving rise to U.S. anticipation that many will remain illegally in the U.S.

With the removal of Argentina, the following 28 countries remain in the Visa Waiver Program: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The United Kingdom, and Uruguay.